Showing my ass on the internet

I’m kind of upset.

I just showed my ass–in the biggest way I remember showing my ass in a LONG time and via the internet to boot–and I can’t even find where the term came from (in the similar usage of revealing oneself in a manner one should not). I kind of remember a good actor babbling the line, was it a Mamet or Price script?

Regardless, I just showed my ass.

Yeah, that always turns out well. I think the reason one calls it showing his or her ass is because it’s not going to work out.

What movie was that from?

He’s drunk, babbling, “I just showed my ass out there.” Maybe even crying. What the hell movie is that? Shockingly, Google is no good for searching for “showing my ass.”

Regardless, better to show it now than later, I suppose….

Was it James Woods?

Nope, it’s Paul Newman. It’s the Color of Money. 

“That takes a real gift to show your ass like that.”

I feel a little better. If I’m going to take the hit for showing my ass, at least I’ll be doing it because I’m trying to act like Paul Newman.